ISA Awards of Distinction logo

The ISA Awards of Distinction, presented by Bartlett Tree Experts, are the highest honors given by ISA based on nominations submitted by members and industry professionals. Nominations are reviewed by the ISA Awards Committee, and the committee submits a roster of recommended award recipients to the ISA Board of Directors for approval. The ISA Awards of Distinction recipients are announced at the ISA Annual International Conference.

2020 Award Nominations

The nomination period closes 1 July 2020 - submit your nomination todayThe 2020 award winners will be annouced at the ISA Annual International Conference and Trade Show.

Latest Winners

2019 Award Recipients

  • Award of Merit: Francesco Ferrini
  • Alex L. Shigo Award for Excellence in Arboricultural Education: Les Werner
  • Sharon J. Lilly Award of Achievement: Jim Clark
  • Honorary Life Membership: John Signorini
  • R.W. Harris Author’s Citation: Julian Dunster
  • L.C. Chadwick Award for Arboricultural Research: Daniel Herms
  • M. F. Blair Award for Exceptional Contribution to Practical Arboriculture: Dwayne Neustaeter
  • Early-Career Scientist Award: Richard Harper
  • Honorary Membership Award: Paul Wood
2019 Awards of Distinction Recipient Bios - Coming soon

Here are the videos for the nine winners:


Award Categories

Award of Merit

This is the highest honor bestowed by ISA, which recognizes a career of outstanding, meritorious service in advancing the principles, ideals, and practice of arboriculture. Nominees must be members of ISA.
See past recipients

Alex L. Shigo Award For Excellence in Arboricultural Education

Recognizes the important role that education plays in enhancing the quality and professionalism of the arboriculture industry through sustained excellence in arboricultural education. Nominees must be members of ISA.

See past recipients

Sharon J. Lilly Award of Achievement

In recognition of sustained outstanding efforts or contribution to the advancement of ISA. Nominees must be members of ISA.

See past recipients

Honorary Life Membership

Granted to members of ISA who have contributed materially and substantially to the progress of arboriculture and have given unselfishly in their efforts to support arboriculture.

See past recipients

R.W. Harris Author’s Citation

Granted to authors for sustained excellence in the publication of timely information pertaining to the field of arboriculture.

See past recipients

L.C. Chadwick Award for Arboricultural Research

Recognizes individuals whose research has contributed valuable information to arboriculture.

See past recipients

Millard F. Blair Award for Exceptional Contribution to Practical Arboriculture

In recognition of individuals whose service has made a substantial contribution to practical arboriculture.

See past recipients
Download the full award description (PDF)

Early-Career Scientist Award

Granted to individuals who show exceptional promise, with high potential to become an internationally-recognized scientist.

See past recipients
Download the full award description (PDF)

Honorary Membership

Recognizes individuals who are NOT ISA members, but who have continued interest and outstanding service in promoting arboriculture. Recipients of this award receive a 12-month ISA membership.

See past recipients

Past Award Recipients

2018   Winner Biographies Winner Videos
2017   Winner Biographies Winner Videos
2016   Winner Biographies Winner Videos
2015   Winner Biographies Winner Videos
2014   Winner Biographies Winner Videos
2013   Winner Biographies Winner Videos
2012   Winner Biographies Winner Videos