Your internet browser is not using current security protocols.
This will soon affect your ability to use the ISA website.
To update your security protocols, turn on TLS 1.2 in Advanced settings or contact your system administrator.
ISA Logo
About ISA  •  Find an Arborist  •  Newsroom  •  Job Bank  •  Contact Us  •  LOGIN
Join ISA
Tree Law Cases in the USA
ISA Members: $49.95
Non-Members: $64.95
Price in US Dollars

Tree Risk Assessment Qualification

COURSE DESCRIPTION

The ISA Tree Risk Assessment Qualification (TRAQ) program provides an opportunity for professionals in the arboriculture industry to expand their knowledge through education and training in the fundamentals of tree risk assessment. This qualification promotes the safety of people and property by providing a standardized and systematic process for assessing tree risk. The results of a tree risk assessment can provide tree owners and risk managers with the information to make informed decisions to enhance tree benefits, health, and longevity.

This course will cover:
  • Tree Biology and Mechanics
  • Tree Inspection and Assessment
  • Data Analysis
  • Risk Categorization
  • Risk Reporting

For more information and a list of prerequisites to take this course view the Tree Risk Assessment Qualification Handbook

Tree Risk Assessment Qualification Courses

The qualification consists of a 2-day educational course followed by a ½ day assessment that includes both a written and field component. It is required that you attend the course and successfully complete the assessment in order to receive this qualification.

LOCATIONS AND DATES

Oregon City, Oregon – Monday, 28 November - Wednesday, 30 November 2016
Charlotte, North Carolina – Wednesday, 30 November - Friday, 2 December 2016
Sarasota, Florida – Thursday, 1 December - Saturday, 3 December 2016
Houston, Texas – Monday, 5 December - Wednesday, 7 December 2016
San Marino, California – Wednesday, 7 December - Friday, 9 December 2016
Spokane, Washington – Wednesday, 7 December - Friday, 9 December 2016
Austin, Texas – Thursday, 8 December - Saturday, 10 December 2016
San Jose, California – Monday, 12 December - Wednesday, 14 December 2016
Seattle, Washington – Monday, 12 December - Wednesday, 14 December 2016
Brighton, Colorado – Tuesday, 13 December - Thursday, 15 December 2016
Aberdeen, South Dakota – Thursday, 15 December - Saturday, 17 December 2016
Medford, New Jersey – Thursday, 12 January - Saturday, 14 January 2017
Surrey, British Columbia – Tuesday, 24 January - Thursday, 26 January 2017
Henderson, Nevada – Wednesday, 1 February - Friday, 3 February 2017
Seattle, Washington – Tuesday, 14 February - Thursday, 16 February 2017
Oregon City, Oregon – Wednesday, 22 February - Friday, 24 February 2017
Lacey, Washington – Monday, 27 February - Wednesday, 1 March 2017
Surrey, British Columbia – Wednesday, 8 March - Friday, 10 March 2017
Wellington, New Zealand – Wednesday, 8 March - Friday, 10 March 2017
Delafield, Wisconsin – Wednesday, 5 April - Friday, 7 April 2017

Seattle, Washington – Monday, 17 April - Wednesday, 19 April 2017

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory – Friday, 28 April - Sunday, 30 April 2017
Surrey, British Columbia – Wednesday, 7 June - Friday, 9 June 2017
Oregon City, Oregon – Monday, 12 June - Wednesday, 14 June 2017
Seattle, Washington – Monday, 12 June - Wednesday, 14 June 2017

Please check back for dates and locations for the Tree Risk Assessment Qualification. The schedule will be updated as more events become available.



Tree Risk Assessment Requalification Courses

To be eligible for the requalification course, candidates must have already taken the TRAQ course and passed the exam. The requalification is an abbreviated version of the full course. The requalification is a one-day refresher, with five hours of instruction, and three hours to take the exam.

Current TRAQ holders can complete the abbreviated course as early as four years into their qualification.

Upon passing the requalification, the expiration date will be adjusted to coincide with the five years from the original expiration date. This means, if someone passes the requalification four years into their credential, s/he has six years until it expires. If someone passes the requalification six months after the expiration date, s/he has 4.5 years until it expires.

LOCATIONS AND DATES

The first Requalification courses will start in October 2017



COURSE DESCRIPTION

The ISA Tree Risk Assessment Qualification (TRAQ) program provides an opportunity for professionals in the arboriculture industry to expand their knowledge through education and training in the fundamentals of tree risk assessment. This qualification promotes the safety of people and property by providing a standardized and systematic process for assessing tree risk. The results of a tree risk assessment can provide tree owners and risk managers with the information to make informed decisions to enhance tree benefits, health, and longevity.

The course includes Tree Biology and Mechanics, Tree Inspection and Assessment, Data Analysis and Risk Categorization, and Risk Reporting. The Tree Risk Assessment Qualification (TRAQ) Course prepares the participant to take the TRAQ assessment to become ISA Tree Risk Assessment Qualified.

The qualification consists of a 2-day educational course followed by a ½ day assessment that includes both a written and field component. It is required that you attend the course and successfully complete the assessment in order to receive this qualification.

For more information and a list of prerequisites to take this course view the Tree Risk Assessment Qualification Handbook.

LOCATIONS AND DATES

Bismarck, North Dakota – Thursday, 22 September - Saturday, 24 September 2016

Indianapolis, Indiana – Tuesday, 27 September - Thursday, 29 September 2016

Seattle, Washington – Tuesday, 27 September - Thursday, 29 September 2016

Malmö, Sweden – Wednesday, 28 September - Friday, 30 September 2016

Woking, United Kingdom – Monday, 3 October - Wednesday, 5 October 2016

Malmö, Sweden – Monday, 3 October - Wednesday, 5 October 2016

Hong Kong – Thursday, 6 October - Saturday, 8 October 2016

Parramatta, New South Wales – Thursday, 6 October - Saturday, 8 October 2016

Kaneohe, Hawaii – Monday, 10 October - Wednesday, 12 October 2016

Parramatta, New South Wales – Monday, 10 October - Wednesday, 12 October 2016

Whitchurch-Stouffville, Ontario – Wednesday, 12 October - Friday, 14 October 2016

Auburn Hills, Michigan – Tuesday, 18 October - Thursday, 20 October 2016

Gainesville, Virginia – Wednesday, 2 November - Friday, 4 November 2016

Denver, Colorado – Monday, 7 November - Wednesday, 9 November 2016

Highland Heights, Kentucky – Wednesday, 9 November - Friday, 11 November 2016

Brevard, North Carolina – Monday, 14 November - Wednesday, 16 November 2016

Oyster Bay, New York – Monday, 14 November - Wednesday, 16 November 2016

Surrey, British Columbia – Monday, 14 November - Wednesday, 16 November 2016

East Syracuse, New York – Thursday, 17 November - Saturday, 19 November 2016

London, Ontario – Monday, 21 November - Wednesday, 23 November 2016

Oregon City, Oregon – Monday, 28 November - Wednesday, 30 November 2016

Charlotte, North Carolina – Wednesday, 30 November - Friday, 2 December 2016

Spokane, Washington –Wednesday, 7 December - Friday, 9 December 2016

Seattle, Washington – Monday, 12 December - Wednesday, 14 December 2016

Brighton, Colorado – Tuesday, 13 December - Thursday, 15 December 2016

Surrey, British Columbia – Tuesday, 24 January - Thursday, 26 January 2017

Seattle, Washington – Tuesday, 14 February - Thursday, 16 February 2017

Oregon City, Oregon – Wednesday, 22 February - Friday, 24 February 2017

Surrey, British Columbia – Wednesday, 8 March - Friday, 10 March 2017

Wellington, New Zealand – Wednesday, 8 March - Friday, 10 March 2017

Seattle, Washington – Monday, 17 April - Wednesday, 19 April 2017

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory – Friday, 28 April - Sunday, 30 April 2017

Surrey, British Columbia – Wednesday, 7 June - Friday, 9 June 2017

Oregon City, Oregon – Monday, 12 June - Wednesday, 14 June 2017

Seattle, Washington – Monday, 12 June - Wednesday, 14 June 2017

Please check back for dates and locations for the Tree Risk Assessment Qualification. The schedule will be updated as more events become available.

©International Society of Arboriculture 2009-2016
PO Box 3129 • Champaign, IL 61826, USA • +1.217.355.9411

Email comments and questions to ISA
Wednesday, December 07, 2016 6:02:40 PM (CST/ISA Headquarters Time)
Please click here to view our privacy policy.